2013 Governor’s Award for Educational Excellence

Two schools – Rocky Run Middle in Fairfax County and Kemps Landing Magnet in Virginia Beach – earned the Governor’s Award for Educational Excellence, the highest VIP award. Both schools will receive a display banner and a signed resolution of commendation from Governor McDonnell. No school divisions qualified for a Governor’s Award for Educational Excellence.

2013 Board of Education Excellence Awards

Fifty-one schools earned the Board of Education Excellence Award, the second-tier honor in the VIP program. These schools also met all state and federal accountability benchmarks for at least two consecutive years and made significant progress toward goals for increased student achievement and expanded educational opportunities set by the board.

The schools receiving Board of Education Excellence Awards are as follows:

Albemarle County – Virginia L. Murray Elementary
Arlington County – Arlington Science Focus School, Arlington Traditional, Ashlawn Elementary, McKinley Elementary, Nottingham Elementary and Taylor Elementary
Charlottesville – Greenbrier Elementary
Chesterfield County – Bettie Weaver Elementary, Robious Elementary, Winterpock Elementary and Woolridge Elementary
Fairfax County – Archer Elementary, Canterbury Woods Elementary, Chesterbrook Elementary, Colvin Run Elementary, Cooper Middle, Floris Elementary, Great Falls Elementary, Greenbriar West Elementary, Haycock Elementary, Hunt Valley Elementary, Longfellow Middle, McNair Elementary, Oak Hill Elementary, Spring Hill Elementary, Thoreau Middle, West Springfield Elementary, Westbriar Elementary and Wolftrap Elementary
Hampton – Francis Asbury Elementary
Hanover County – Pearson’s Corner Elementary and Pole Green Elementary
Henrico County – Echo Lake Elementary, Glen Allen Elementary, Nuckols Farm Elementary, Rivers Edge Elementary, Shady Grove Elementary and Twin Hickory Elementary
Loudoun County – Lincoln Elementary and Pinebrook Elementary
Montgomery County – Gilbert Linkous Elementary
Prince William County – Mary G. Porter Traditional and Mountain View Elementary
Pulaski County – Snowville Elementary
Roanoke – Crystal Spring Elementary
Roanoke County – Bonsack Elementary, Cave Spring Middle and Oak Grove Elementary
Virginia Beach – Old Donation Center
Williamsburg-James City County – Matoaka Elementary

2013 Board of Education Distinguished Achievement Awards:

The Board of Education Distinguished Achievement Award was earned by one division – West Point – and 98 schools that met all state and federal benchmarks for at least two consecutive years and made progress toward the goals of the governor and the board.

The schools receiving Distinguished Achievement awards are as follows:

Albemarle County – Hollymead Elementary, Meriwether Lewis Elementary and Mortimer Y. Sutherland Middle
Amherst County – Temperance Elementary
Arlington County – Henry Elementary and Jamestown Elementary
Carroll County – Fancy Gap Elementary
Charlotte County – Eureka Elementary
Charlottesville – Venable Elementary
Chesterfield County – Elizabeth Scott Elementary, Enon Elementary, Grange Hall Elementary and W.W. Gordon Elementary
Danville – Forest Hills Elementary
Fairfax County – Camelot Elementary, Forest Edge Elementary, Fox Mill Elementary, Franklin Middle, Frost Middle, Kent Gardens Elementary, Kings Glen Elementary, Mantua Elementary, Oakton Elementary, Olde Creek Elementary, Sherman Elementary, Springfield Estates Elementary, Stratford Landing Elementary, Sunrise Valley Elementary, Vienna Elementary, Westgate Elementary and Willow Springs Elementary
Falls Church – Mount Daniel School and Thomas Jefferson Elementary
Franklin County – Boones Mill Elementary, Burnt Chimney Elementary, Gereau Center for Applied Technology and Career Exploration and Snow Creek Elementary
Gloucester County – Achilles Elementary
Hampton – Armstrong Elementary
Hanover County – Cool Spring Elementary, Kersey Creek Elementary, South Anna Elementary and Washington-Henry Elementary
Henrico County – Arthur Ashe Jr. Elementary, Colonial Trail Elementary, Gayton Elementary, Jackson Davis Elementary, Pemberton Elementary, Short Pump Elementary, Springfield Park Elementary, Three Chopt Elementary and Tuckahoe Elementary
Henry County – Rich Acres Elementary
Isle of Wight County – Carrsville Elementary
Loudoun County – Aldie Elementary, Ashburn Elementary, Belmont Station Elementary, Hamilton Elementary, Liberty Elementary, Lowes Island Elementary and Round Hill Elementary
Montgomery County – Auburn Elementary and Harding Avenue Elementary
Norfolk – Larchmont Elementary
Prince George County – L.L. Beazley Elementary
Prince William County – A. Henderson Elementary, Thurgood Marshall Elementary and Westridge Elementary
Richmond – Broad Rock Elementary
Roanoke – Fishburn Park Elementary, Grandin Court Elementary and Wasena Elementary
Roanoke County – Back Creek Elementary, Cave Spring Elementary, Clearbrook Elementary, Fort Lewis Elementary, Glenvar Middle, Green Valley Elementary, Penn Forest Elementary and W.E. Cundiff Elementary
Rockingham County – Peak View Elementary and South River Elementary
Russell County – Cleveland Elementary
Scott County – Weber City Elementary
Spotsylvania County – Chancellor Elementary
Stafford County – Garrisonville Elementary
Suffolk – Northern Shores Elementary
Tazewell County – Abb’s Valley-Boissevain Elementary
Virginia Beach – John B. Dey Elementary, Kingston Elementary and Red Mill Elementary
Waynesboro – Westwood Hills Elementary
West Point – West Point Elementary
Williamsburg-James City County – Matthew Whaley Elementary and Rawls Byrd Elementary
Wise County – Coeburn Primary
York County – Coventry Elementary and Mount Vernon Elementary


RICHMOND, Va. (AP) — Officials say 151 public schools and one school division in Virginia have earned the highest awards given under a state incentive program.

Gov. Bob McDonnell announced the winners of the 2013 Virginia Index of Performance awards on Wednesday.

The Virginia Board of Education created the incentive program in 2007. It recognizes schools and divisions that exceed minimum state and federal accountability standards and achieve excellence goals established by the governor and the board.

Superintendent of Public Instruction Patricia I. Wright says the program provides incentives for schools to expand academic opportunities for all students and to adopt best practices that result in engaging, safe and healthy learning environments.